Categorized | Executive, Featured Stories

Hickenlooper Transition Team Includes Owens, Webb And Other Notables


Former Colorado Gov. Bill Owens, former Denver Mayor Wellington Webb and Club 20 Executive Director Reeves Brown are among the statewide co-chairs of Gov.-Elect John Hickenlooper’s transition.

Hickenlooper, playing the role of a centrist who can bring warring parties together, selected well-known Republicans along with prominent Democrats. Even the transition’s site has a harmonious name: “Partners for Colorado.”

The transition committee plans meetings statewide on Friday and next Friday, Nov. 20.

“The process of handing the torch from one administration to another can be a daunting challenge and we wish this new team a smooth and easy transition for Colorado,” said state Rep. Amy Stephens, R-Monument, who will be Majority Leader of the newly GOP-controlled House of Representatives during the 2011 session.

A full press statement is published below.

Gov.-elect Hickenlooper announces

statewide transition co-chairs

DENVER — Monday, Nov. 8, 2010 — Gov.-elect John Hickenlooper and Lt. Gov.- elect Joe Garcia today announced Partners for Colorado’s 16 statewide co-chairs and the co-chairs of 23 issue committees.

“We are thankful these men and women have accepted our call to represent all of Colorado as we examine the critical issues facing our state,” Hickenlooper said. “This diverse group of leaders will also help the Hickenlooper-Garcia transition team recruit and evaluate the best candidates to oversee numerous state agencies.”

The statewide co-chairs and committee co-chairs will be responsible for creating committees to examine critical issues facing Colorado. Each committee will meet in the coming weeks to develop strategic plans that can be used by Hickenlooper and Garcia when they take office Jan. 11.

Each committee has two to four co-chairs and will be formed by Nov. 9. To see a list of the committees or to volunteer for a committee, go to Each committee will have approximately two dozen members.

The public can submit comments via the Hickenlooper-Garcia transition website. Also on the website, there is information about how to apply for Cabinet-level positions or jobs in the Governor’s Office, and how to volunteer for the Hickenlooper-Garcia transition team. A separate organization will coordinate the Inauguration and related events.

Partners for Colorado will hold 11 transition meetings in cities throughout the state on Nov. 13 and Nov. 20. Each meeting is open the public and will focus on economic development, as well as the work of specific committees. Participants will be asked to brainstorm suggestions for the most important challenges and opportunities facing the state.


About Partners for Colorado
Partners for Colorado is a 501(c)(4) organization created to engage a diverse group of people from all over Colorado; ensure a smooth hand-off from the Ritter administration to the Hickenlooper administration; review the current performance, challenges and opportunities of each major area of state government and develop recommendations for improving practices within these areas; provide recommendations to the incoming administration for specific executive and legislative actions that can be pursued during the administration’s first 100 days; and recruit and evaluate candidates.

Transition Co-Chairs

Joe Garcia, Lieutenant Governor-elect
John Huggins, Entrepreneur

State-wide Co-Chairs

Sue Birch, Executive Director, Northwest Colorado Visiting Nurses Association
Reeves Brown, Executive Director, Club 20
Terry Dye, Owner, Dyecrest Dairy
Cole Finegan, Managing Partner, Hogan Lovells
Stephanie Garcia, President/Executive Director, Pueblo Board of Education/ARC of Pueblo
Bill Hybl, Chairman and CEO, El Pomar Foundation
Frances Koncilja, Attorney, Koncilja and Associates
Bill Long, Bent County Commissioner and President of the Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District
Donna Lynne, President, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan Colorado
Greg Maffei, CEO, Liberty Media
Bill Owens, Former Governor
Kathay Rennels, Director of Economic Development, Colorado State University
LeRoy Salazar, Founder, Agro Engineering
James Stewart, CEO, Colorado Springs Black Chamber of Commerce
Wellington Webb, former Denver Mayor
Al Yates, Former President, Colorado State University, Personnel and Administration Committee

Committee Co-Chairs

Roy Alexander, Executive Director, Colorado Housing and Finance Authority, Budget Committee
Mike Beasley, Managing Director, Strategic Investment Solutions, Inc., Local Affairs Committee
Adrienne Benavidez, Division Director, State of Colorado, Revenue Committee
Luis Colon, Vice President, CSA Group, Transportation Committee
Jason Crow, Associate, Holland & Hart, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee
Renny Fagan, CEO, Colorado Nonprofit Association, Revenue Committee
Steve Farber, President and Founder, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP, Economic Development Committee
David Fine, City of Denver Attorney, Homeland Security and Emergency Management Committee
Patty Gabow, CEO and Medical Director, Denver Health, Public Health and Environment Committee
Ken Gart, CEO, Specialty Sport Venture, Energy and Public Utilities Commission Committee
Matt Gianneschi, Education Policy Advisor, Governor Ritter, Education Committee
Dan Grossman, Regional Director for Environmental Defense Fund, Natural Resources Committee
Su Hawk, President, Colorado’s Technology Association, Information Technology Committee
John Hereford, Founder and CEO, Hereford Capital Advisors, Energy and Public Utilities Commission Committee
Elise Jones, Executive Director, Colorado Environmental Coalition, Public Health and Environment Committee
Steve Kaplan, Attorney, Kaplan Kirsch & Rockwell LLP, Transportation Committee
Tracie Kessee, Division Chief, City and County of Denver, Public Safety Committee
Alvin LaCabe, City of Denver Manager of Public Safety, Corrections Committee
Rich Lewis, Board Member, Colorado Oil and Gas Association; MDU Resources Group, Labor and Employment Committee
Andy Love, Co-Chair, Colorado Space Coalition, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee
John Lucero, Deputy Director, City of Denver Economic Development, Regulatory Agencies Committee
Paul Major, President and CEO, Telluride Foundation, Local Affairs Committee
Pete Meersman, Board of Directors, Visit Denver, Regulatory Agencies Committee
Lorez Meinhold, Director of Health Reform Implementation, Governor Ritter, Health Care Policy and Financing Committee
Peggy Montanto, Attorney, Trout Raley Montano Witwer & Freeman, Natural Resources Committee
Julie Mordecai, Director of Partnership, Rural Colorado Boys & Girls Club, Public Health and Environment Committee
Dave Powell, Employment Group Chair, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP, Personnel and Administration Committee
Molly Rauzi, Chief Information Officer, City and County of Denver, Information Technology Committee
Bob Rizzuto, Vice President, Colorado State University, Budget Committee
Joe Salazar, Attorney, The Salazar Consultant Group LLC, Regulatory Agencies Committee
Bob Schaffer, Colorado State Board of Education member, Education Committee
Kristy Schloss, President and CEO, Schloss Engineered Equipment, Public Health and Environment Committee
Gloria Stultz, State Senator Elect, District 2, Corrections Committee
Bill Thiebaut, District Attorney, Pueblo City Government, Labor and Employment Committee
Mark Thrun, Director of HIV and STD Control Program, Denver Public Health Department, Health Care Policy and Financing Committee
Annie Warhover, President, Downtown Denver Partnership, Personnel and Administration Committee

Comments are closed.